Quick Answer: What Are The 7 Electromagnetic Waves And Their Uses?

What are the 7 types of electromagnetic waves and their uses?

The different types of electromagnetic radiation shown in the electromagnetic spectrum consists of radio waves, microwaves, infrared waves, visible light, ultraviolet radiation, X-rays, and gamma rays. The part of the electromagnetic spectrum that we are able to see is the visible light spectrum.

What are the 7 types of electromagnetic waves?

Though the sciences generally classify EM waves into seven basic types, all are manifestations of the same phenomenon.

  • Radio Waves: Instant Communication.
  • Microwaves: Data and Heat.
  • Infrared Waves: Invisible Heat.
  • Visible Light Rays.
  • Ultraviolet Waves: Energetic Light.
  • X-rays: Penetrating Radiation.
  • Gamma Rays: Nuclear Energy.

What are the types of electromagnetic waves and their uses?

Astronomers use all kinds of telescopes—some on Earth, some in space—to glean information about distant objects from the electromagnetic radiation they give off.

  1. Radio waves.
  2. Microwaves.
  3. Infrared.
  4. Visible light.
  5. Ultraviolet light.
  6. X rays.
  7. Gamma rays.

What are the types of electromagnetic waves?

Types of Electromagnetic Waves

  • Radio Waves. Radio waves have the longest wavelengths of all the electromagnetic waves.
  • Microwaves. Microwaves are shorter than radio waves with wavelengths measured in centimeters.
  • Infrared. Between microwaves and visible light are infrared waves.
  • Visible light.
  • Ultraviolet.
  • X-rays.
  • Gamma rays.
  • Activities.